Emergency Management


The Director of Emergency Management for Montgomery County is Rick Whitson. He is appointed by the Board of Commissioners. The Montgomery County Emergency Management Department exists to help citizens and local governments prepare for, respond to and recover from all types of emergencies and disasters. (natural, technological and National Security.)

Our office of Emergency Management hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The telephone number is 620-330-1260. E-Mail: Rick Whitson 

CERT email:  mgcert at mgcountyks.org    

RACES email:  mgraces at mgcountyks.org

Montgomery County RACES Site 

Family Guide for Emergencies


Local Storm Shelter Locations

Montgomery County Local Emergency Operation Plan

Click here to continue to the LEOP

Montgomery County Multi-Jurisdictional Mitigation Plan

Planning for Pandemic Incidents    

White Paper: NYU-Disaster Communications    

Amateur Radio Operator Proclamation

Community Right to Know Act

Quick Links:  Kansas Division of Emergency Management   Federal Emergency Management Agency  National Response Center  Kansas Emergency Management Association   Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  Emergency Response Guide  Montgomery County Local Emergency Planning Comm.  Community Emergency Response Teams  Hazardous Materials Safety  American Red Cross  Salvation Army  National Weather Service – Wichita, Ks.  FEMA Independent Study Program  Ready.Gov

Emergency Mgt. Menu